Differentiate between the Purva and Agama texts of Jainism.

The canonical literature of Jainism is claimed to have started from Adinatha, the first tirthankara. It is said that these teachings were forgotten and revived by the Tirthankaras from time to time.
The teachings of the Tirthankaras before Mahavir are known as Purva. There were total 14 Purvas which were memorized and passed on through the ages, but later lost into oblivion.
Jain Literature is called Jain Agamas. They are canonical texts of Jainism based on Mahavira’s teachings. There are in all 46 texts.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *