Indian culture: GK, Current Affairs, Questions, Trivia and News

Prakash Padukone to be first recipient of lifetime achievement award instituted by Badminton Association of India (BAI)

Prakash Padukone, the renowned Indian Badminton legend, will be conferred with the first Lifetime Achievement Award instituted by the Badminton Association of India (BAI) for his rich contribution to the sport. The award carries cash prize of Rs 10 lakh with a citation, which will be presented to Padukone at New Delhi very soon. Padukone ..

Waltherus Marijne appointed as new chief coach of Indian Senior Men Hockey Team

Waltherus Norbertus Maria Marijne has been named as the new chief coach of the Indian Senior Men Hockey Team. Marijne will succeed Roelant Oltmans on September 20, 2017. Currently, Marijne is the chief coach of Indian Senior Women Hockey Team. Besides, Harendra Singh, who is hockey coach and Dronacharya Awardee, has been appointed as High ..

Parineeti Chopra become first Indian woman ambassador for Tourism Australia

Bollywood actress Parineeti Chopra has become the first Indian woman ambassador for Tourism Australia to encourage Indians to visit the country. She was presented the Friend of Australia (FOA) recognition by Australian Consul General Tony Huber for her contribution to promote Australia recently. Prior to Chopra, famous chef Sanjeev Kapoor and cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle ..

Wrestler Satish Kumar got Rs 25 lakh as compensation for being barred from 14th Asian Games 2002

Satish Kumar, the decorated West Bengal wrestler, has been awarded Rs 25 lakh as compensation by the Delhi court for being wrongly restrained from taking part in the 14th Asian Games-2002 at Busan in South Korea under the mistaken impression that he had taken performance-enhancing drugs. The court also directed the government to ensure that ..

Nitasha Biswas crowned as India’s first-ever Miss TransQueen 2017

Kolkata-based Nitasha Biswas has been crowned India’s first-ever Miss TransQueen 2017 in Gurugram, Haryana. Currently, Biswas is pursuing Masters in Business Management in Kolkata, West Bengal. Loiloi Haorongbam from Manipur became the first runner-up, while Ragasiya from Tamil Nadu was the second runner-up. Now, Biswas will represent India at the Miss International TransQueen in Thailand, ..

The 2017 National Sports Day (NSD) celebrated on 29 August

The National Sports Day (NSD) is celebrated every year on 29th August to mark the birthday of legendary hockey player Dhyan Chand. On this occasion, in 2017, President Ram Nath Kovind has confered Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award and Dronacharya Award at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi. The Khel Ratna Award is honoured ..

Devendra Jhajharia and Sardar Singh have been selected for 2017 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Para Athlete Devendra Jhajharia and Hockey player Sardar Singh have been selected for the 2017 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Cricketer Cheteshwar Pujara, Women Cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur and shooter P. N. Prakash are among the 17 sportsmen who will be given Arjuna Awards for their outstanding performance. Seven persons have been chosen for Dronacharya Awards ..

Nagesh Kukunoor to be chairman of technical committee for 48th International Film Festival of India (IFFI)-2017

The Information and Broadcasting (I&B) Ministry has constituted a technical committee for the 48th International Film Festival of India (IFFI), which is proposed to be held from November 20-28, 2017 in Goa. The technical committee will have 12 members and will be chaired by Nagesh Kukunoor. The I&B ministry has also constituted a steering committee ..