UNESCO Recognition for Use of ICT in PM eVidya

“Use of ICT in PM e-Vidya scheme” by Ministry of Education won UNESCO’s recognition, called King Hamad Bin Isa Al-Khalifa Prize  recently.

About PM eVIDYA Programme

PM eVIDYA programme was launched by Ministry of Education, as part of ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat Abhiyaan’ by in May 2020. The programme unifies all efforts associated to digital, on-air, online education, in order to enable multi-mode access for imparting education using technology to minimise learning losses.

Major initiatives of PM eVidya

Major initiatives of PM eVidya scheme include:

  1. DIKSHA (one nation, one digital platform)- It is India’s digital infrastructure to provide quality e-content for school education in states or UTs and QR coded Energized Textbooks for grades.
  2. SwayamPrabha TV channel (one class, one channel)– one earmarked channel for each class from 1 to 12.
  3. Extensive use of Community radio, Radio, and CBSE Podcast- Shiksha Vani.
  4. Special e-content for visually and hearing impaired. It has been developed on Digitally Accessible Information System (DAISY) as well as in sign language on YouTube/NIOS website.

UNESCO’s King Hamad Bin Isa Al-Khalifa Prize

Central Institute of Educational Technology (CIET) has been awarded with the King Hamad Bin Isa Al-Khalifa Prize for year 2021. CIET was awarded for use of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) in Education. CIET is a constituent unit of the NCERT. The award recognises innovative approaches in leveraging new technologies in a bid to expand educational and lifelong learning opportunities for all. It is in line with 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, Goal 4 on Education. This award was established in 2005, with the help of Kingdom of Bahrain. It rewards individuals and organisations which are implementing outstanding projects and promoting creative use of technologies to enhance teaching, learning, and overall educational performance in digital age.

Annual Prize Winner

An international jury selects two best projects in a year. Each of the prize winner receives USD 25,000, a diploma and a medal during a ceremony, which is organised at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris on June 24.




Latest E-Books