Appointment of new Chief Justices for 5 High Courts

Appointment of new chief Justices in five high courts has been approved by Central Government.

Key Facts

  • Ministry of Law and Justice notified the appointment for Uttarakhand, Telangana, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, and Guwahati.
  • Justice Vipin Sanghi of Delhi High Court (HC) has been appointed as Chief Justice of Uttarakhand HC.
  • Justice Ujjal Bhuyan of Telangana HC will be appointed as Chief Justice of Telangana HC.
  • Justice Amjad Ahtesham Sayed of Bombay HC as Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh HC.
  • Justice Shinde Sambhaji Shiwaji of Bombay HC as Chief Justice of Rajasthan HC.
  • Justice Rashmin M Chhaya of Gujarat HC will be appointed as Chief Justice of Guwahati HC.
  • Chief Justice Satish Chandra Sharma of Telangana HC has been appointed to Delhi HC.

Constitutional provision for appointment of HC Judges

Judge of a High Court is appointed in accordance with Article 217 of the Constitution. As per Article, the Judge is appointed by the President after consulting the Chief Justice of India (CJI) and Governor of the State. To appoint a HC Judge other than Chief Justice, consultation of Chief Justice of HC is taken.

How are the judges appointed?

Judges of the High Court recommended by a Collegium comprising of CJI and two senior-most judges. Proposal is initiated by Chief Justice of the concerned HC, in consultation with two senior-most judges.  Recommendation is then sent to the Chief Minister of concerned state, who advises the Governor to send proposal to Union Law Minister.  Lastly, the Chief Justice of HC is appointed in accordance with policy of having Chief Justices from outside of the respective States.

Collegium System

It is the system of appointment and transfer of judges. This system has not been evolved by an Act of Parliament or by Constitutional provision, but has evolved through supreme court judgments.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *