Three monuments identified as Adarash Smarak: Andhra Pradesh

Three monuments in the State of Andhra Pradesh have been identified under the Adarsh Smarak Scheme. These monuments will be provided with additional amenities and will be made into more tourist-friendly sites.



  • This was announced by the Union Minister of Tourism, Culture and Development of North Eastern Region G Kishan Reddy
  • The Buddhist remains at Salihundam in Srikakulam, monuments at Nagarjunakonda in Guntur and Veerabhadra temple (Lepakshi) in Anantapur have been selected under the Adarsh Smarak Scheme.
  • They will be provided with various additional facilities like cafeteria, Wi-Fi, Braille signages, interpretation centre, illumination etc.
  • Currently, there are 135 sites in Andhra Pradesh which are centrally protected monuments and they are provided with amenities various Upgradation in a regular manner.
  • The preservation, conservation and environmental development and Upgradation in and around the protected monuments and sites are taken in accordance to their need and priority.


Adarsh Smarak Scheme

This scheme has been launched by the Ministry of Culture in the year 2014. Under this scheme improved visitor amenities are provided to attract tourists. This scheme has been taken up to maintain and develop 100 monuments protected monuments in the country.




Latest E-Books