Gujarat to grant Centre of Excellence status 7 Universities

Gujarat government is all set to grant Centre of Excellence (CoE) status to seven private universities in state.

Who gave the approval?

In-principal approval was given by Chief Minister, Vijay Rupani, to make their mark globally. University Grants Commission (UGC) encourages higher education institutions to attain excellence in specific areas of academic as well as research work. CoE can an institute of strategic or security-relate importance, notified by state government. Institution of Eminence can also be given CoE tag.

Which Universities have been selected?

Seven Universities include- CEPT University, Nirma University, Pandit Deendayal Energy University, Ahmedabad University, Dhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information and Communication Technology (DAIICT), Marwadi University and Charotar University of Science & Technology.

Significance of CoE status

CoE tag to universities will help in bringing quality education and give them an international touch. Tag will also boost research, innovation and establish a culture of creating start- ups.

University Grants Commission (UGC)

UGC is a statutory body established by UGC Act 1956. It works under Ministry of Education to coordinate, determine and maintain standards of higher education. It gives recognition to universities in India, and disburse funds for recognized universities and colleges. It is headquartered New Delhi, along with six regional centres in Bhopal, Pune, Kolkata, Guwahati, Hyderabad and Bangalore.




Latest E-Books