Delhi Declaration on Afghanistan – Highlights

A regional security summit was hosted by India on November 10, 2021. The summit was attended by eight nations including Iran and Russia.


  • Conference was represented by the national security advisors of each country.
  • During the conference, it was announced that Afghanistan & its territories cannot be used to shelter or train terrorists, or to finance any act of terrorism.
  • Countries issued a joint statement, dubbed as “Delhi Declaration on Afghanistan”. As per the statement, eight participating nations discussed the evolving Afghan situation including the global ramification in the aftermath Taliban’s takeover.
  • They paid special attention to issues like Threats from terrorism, current political situation in Afghanistan, radicalisation & drug trafficking.

Who were the participating countries?

The eight nations, which attended the conference include India, Russia, Iran, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.

Commitments made by countries

  • Participating countries highlighted the need to offer Afghanistan all possible humanitarian assistance.
  • They reaffirmed their firm commitment to tackle terrorism in all forms and manifestations. They also seek to combat terror financing, dismantling of terrorist infrastructure and counter radicalisation in a bid to ensure that Afghanistan will never become a safe haven for terrorism.
  • They further emphasised on the importance of ensuring fundamental rights of children, minorities and women.

Joint Declaration

The Joint Declaration (Delhi Declaration) emphasised on the need to provide urgent assistance to Afghan people. It expressed deep concerns over deteriorating socio-economic and humanitarian situation in Afghanistan.  It also noted the need of helping Afghanistan to contain COVID-19.




Latest E-Books