Corona Virus: India closes 18 of 37 international borders

On March 14, 2020, Government of India ordered to suspend 18 of the 37 international borders from March 15, 2020. It includes borders across Nepal, Myanmar, Bhutan and Bangladesh.


As Corona Virus outbreak has reached 93 in numbers, Government of India has ordered to close international borders in the country.


There are only two land crossing borders between India and Pakistan. One is the Attari-Wagah border and the other is the Kartarpur pilgrimage border. Though different deadlines were given to other borders, these two borders across Pakistan were closed indefinitely.

Border Control

The international borders across countries Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan are controlled by State Governments and Bureau of Immigration

Bureau of Immigration

The BOI was established in 1971. It functions under Ministry of Home Affairs.

Border Security Force

The Border Security Forces guard the borders during peace time. They are armed forces that were established in 1965 after the 1965 war. They are termed as the first line of Defence in the military system.




Latest E-Books