BIMSTEC countries express commitment to combat terrorism in all its forms

The BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) countries have expressed commitment to combat terrorism in all its forms and manifestations.
In this regard, seven nations of BIMSTEC countries have issues Leaders Retreat Outcome Document emphasising that there can be no justification for acts of terror.
Key Highlights of document

  • BIMSTEC countries strongly condemned the recent terror attacks in the region.
  • The states who encourage and support provide sanctuary to terrorists should be identified and held accountable. Strong measures against such states must be taken.
  • They recognised the need for urgent measures to counter and prevent the spread of terrorism, violent extremism and radicalization.
  • They renewed their commitment to the early conclusion of BIMSTEC Free Trade Area negotiations, and direct the Trade Negotiating Committee and Working Groups to expedite the finalization of its constituent Agreements.
  • They agreed to expedite the signing of the BIMSTEC Convention on Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters.
  • They also called for early ratification of the BIMSTEC Convention on Cooperation in Combating International Terrorism, Transnational Organized Crime and Illicit Drug Trafficking.
  • They also stressed the necessity of pursuing sustainable development and of the implementation of the Paris Agreement on Climate Change.
  • They also recognized that cooperation in sustainable development of fisheries in Bay of Bengal region for ensuring food security and improving livelihoods of people.


  • BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative on Multi Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) is the sub-regional group of seven countries in South Asia and South East Asia lying in the littoral and adjacent areas of the Bay of Bengal constituting a contiguous regional unity.
  • They are India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka (from South Asia) and Myanmar, Thailand (from South East Asia).
  • Established: 6 June 1997 through the Bangkok Declaration.
  • Headquarters: Dhaka, Bangladesh.
  • Objectives: Technological and economical cooperation among south Asian and south East Asian countries along the coast of the Bay of Bengal.
  • It also covers cooperation in commerce, technology, investment, agriculture, tourism, human resource development, fisheries, transport and communication, textiles, leather etc.



Latest E-Books