Aizawl FC become First Northeastern Club to Win I-League

Aizawl FC has won its maiden I-League title against Shillong Lajong in their final game of the league season to become the first ever club from the northeast to win the I-League title. This was the 10th edition of the I-League held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Shillong, The victory of Aizawl FC with a shoe-string budget against Shillong Lajong is considered as one of the biggest achievements in Indian football history. Aizawl ended the league with 37 points.


The Hero I-League is an Indian professional league for men’s association football clubs. The I-League was formed in 2007 as the ONGC I-League with an aim to professionalize the game of football in India. It is a successor of the National Football League and is considered as the primary competition in the field of Indian football.



Latest E-Books