Agroclimatic Regions in India

For resource development, the country has been broadly divided into fifteen agricultural regions based on agroclimatic features, particularly soil type, climate including temperature and rainfall and its variation and water resources availability as under:

  1. Western Himalayan division
  2. Eastern Himalayan division
  3. Lower Gangetic plain region
  4. Middle Gangetic plain region
  5. Upper Gangetic plain region
  6. Trans-Gangetic plain region
  7. Eastern plateau and hill region
  8. Central plateau and hill region
  9. Western plateau and hill region
  10. Southern plateau and hill region
  11. East coast plain and hill region
  12. West coast plain and hill region
  13. Gujarat plain and hill region
  14. Western plain and hill region
  15. Island region


Latest E-Books