Who among the following is the current chairman of University Grants Commission (UGC)?
[A]Prabhu Prasad
[B]Sukhadeo Thorat
[C]Ved Prakash
[D]Suresh Mishra

Ved Prakash
The Government of India has appointed professor Ved Prakash as the chairman of University Grants Commission on January 18, 2013. Prakash, a recipient of the US Fulbright post-doctoral fellowship, has held a number of important positions in national and international organization and has been the acting chairman of UGC for over 23 months. With his appointment as the chairman of the apex regulatory authority of the higher education in the country, he now has the unique distinction of serving UGC in all three key positions as secretary, vice-chairman and chairman. The position has been lying vacant since February 2011 after professor Sukhadeo Thorat completed his term as chairman.