Which Indian Ocean country celebrates National Day on 18 June?

The Republic of Seychelles comprises 115 islands in the western Indian Ocean. June 18th is known as National Day in Seychelles. This national holiday commemorates the implementation of a multiparty democracy. Seychelles gained independence from Britain in 1976 and became a republic within the commonwealth. The republic was under single party rule until December 4, 1991, when President France Albert RenÉ announced a return to the multiparty system of government. On June 18, 1993, a new constitution was approved, and the first multiparty presidential and legislative elections were held in July.