Newly Appointed Governors of Chattisgarh and Andhra Pradesh

President Ram Nath Kovind has confirmed appointment of Rajya Sabha member Anusuiya Uikey as Governor of Chhattisgarh and Senior Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) leader Biswa Bhusan Harichandan as Governor of Andhra Pradesh.

Anusuiya Uikey

  • She is a sitting member of Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh.
  • She succeeds Anandiben Patel, who as Governor of Madhya Pradesh was also holding additional charge of Chhattisgarh due to sudden demise of Balram Das Tandon then Chhattisgarh Governor on August 2018.
  • She previously held the post of Minister of Women and Child Development in state government of Madhya Pradesh.
  • In 2000 she became a member of National Commission for Women and since then has been leading a campaign for tribal women’s empowerment.
  • She is the 1st tribal women to hold post of Governor of Chhattisgarh since formation of state in 2000.

Biswa Bhusan Harichandan

  • He is a Veteran Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) leader.
  • He succeeds ESL Narasimhan, who is serving as Governor for Andhra Pradesh since December 2009.
  • In 1971 he became member of Bharatiya Jana Sangha and became its National Executive Member till formation of Janta Party in 1977. Later, he joined the BJP and served as BJPs President for Odisha from 1980 to 1988.
  • He was also detained during Maintenance of Internal Security Act (MISA) among several other leaders during Emergency. MISA now stands repealed.

Governors in India

Articles 152-162 (in Part VI) of Constitution of India contain the provision related to Governors of states.

Article 153: States that there shall be Governor for each state. The same person can serve as governor for two or more states, this was facilitated by 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956.

Article 155: States that Governor is appointed by President by warrant under his hand and seal. By convention, governor’s appointment is done on recommendation of Prime Minister of India.

Eligibility: He/she should be at least 35 years of age (Article 157). Person so appointed should not hold any other office of profit (Article 158).

Tenure: There is no fixed tenure of governor. He/she holds office at pleasure of President.


Leave a Reply