National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage of India launched

On April 18, 2020, the Union Minister of culture Shri Prahlad Singh Patel launched the National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage. The list is to include 13 elements that are already included in UNESCO Representative list of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.


The initiative is a part of Vision 2024 of Ministry of Culture. It aims to increase the awareness about intangible cultural heritages. The list will recognize the diversity in Indian Culture. The list already has 100 elements. However, the Ministry updates the list regularly.


According to UNESCO’s Convention for safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage held in 2003, there are 5 broad categories in the list. They are performing arts, rituals and festive events, social practices, knowledge and practices concerned with nature and traditional craftmanship.

What is Intangible Cultural Heritage?

The ICH is representation, practice, knowledge, expression of skills. It involves non-physical intellectual property such as beliefs, folklore, traditions, customs and language.


1 Comment

  1. Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    April 22, 2020 at 12:12 pm

    Intangible Cultural heritage – its a massive deposit. Generations of people for centuries have contributed to it. Laws of the Life Givers are deeply ingrained in the intangible cultural heritage.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *