National Human Rights Commission

The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) is an autonomous entity of the government of India with a mission to protect and promote human rights. Under the Protection of Human Rights Act, it is a legal entity mentioned in the Constitution of India which was established in 1993. This law was further amended in the year 2006.


  • Human rights is integral a part of society.
  • The NHRC acts as somebody’s rights watchdog within the country.
  • The NHRC examines the rights associated with the dignity, life, equality and freedom of people.
  • These rights are secured by the Indian Constitution..
  • The NHRC was established in accordance with the Paris Principles of Human Rights, 1991.

Composition of NHRC

The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) consists of a president and eight other members. These eight members are four deemed members and four full time members.

Functions of NHRC

  • Proactively investigate human rights violations by the government or the negligence of such violations by public officials.
  • Protection of rights and recommend measures for effective implementation.
  • Review factors that impede the enjoyment of human rights and recommend the required appropriate corrective action.
  • Study of treaties and other international human rights instruments and make recommendations for their effective implementation.
  • To conduct and promote research in the field of human rights.
  • Visit prisons and investigate the condition of inmates.
  • Participate in human rights education in different parts of society and promote awareness of the safeguards available.
  • To protect these rights through media, publications, seminars and various other means available.
  • Promoting the efforts of NGOs and institutions that volunteer in the field of human rights.
  • Requesting public records or copies thereof from a court or office.

NHRC is an integral part of the government as well as the society. Its headquarters is located in New Delhi and Arun Kumar Mishra is the current chairperson.

Leave a Reply