National Commission on Population

The National Commission on Population works under the chairmanship of Prime Minister with the following members:

  • Chief ministers of all states,
  • Chief ministers of UTs,
  • Minister of Health and Family Welfare,
  • Concerned ministries like Ministry of HRD, Ministry of Rural Development, Ministry of Environment and Forest etc.
  • Others like demographers, public health professionals, NGOs etc.


  • To monitor and give directions for the implementation of the National population Policy with an aim to achieve the goals targeted in the population policy.
  • To achieve synergy among different sectors and agencies in centre and the states like health, educational, environmental and other developmental programmes to hasten the achievement of population stabilization.
  • To develop a vigorous people friendly programme to support efforts put towards population stabilization.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *