Narayanan appointed Director of ISRO’s Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre

Senior scientist Dr V Narayanan has assumed charge as Director of ISRO’s Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC). He succeeded S Somanath who was appointed as Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC).
Prior to this appointment, he was Associate Director of LPSC and was guiding liquid propulsion activities of ISRO and was instrumental in finalising the Liquid Propulsion Roadmap of ISRO for the next 20 years.

Dr V Narayanan

Narayananhad joined ISRO in 1984 and since then has functioned in various capacities. He is rocket propulsion expert and outstanding scientist, guiding ISRO team that designed 200 tonne thrust Lox-Kerosene Semi Cryogenic Rocket Engine.
He had played crucial role in successful development of Cryogenic Upper Stage (CUS) and made it operational for GSLV Mk II vehicle when India was denied complex Cryogenic Propulsion Technology. He also had played vital role in successful launch of GSLV Mk III vehicle in its maiden attempt in 2017 from Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SHAR), Sriharikota.
As Project Director for C25 Cryogenic Project, he had led team that successfully developed indigenous C25 Cryogenic Stage powered by 20 tonne thrust Cryogenic Engine using Liquid Oxygen and Liquid Hydrogen propellant combination.
He is Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (FINAE) and Member of Space Propulsion Committee of International Astronautical Federation (IAF) and member in various national and international professional bodies.
He has published large number of technical papers in national and international journals.

Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC)

LPSC is research and development centre functioning under ISRO. It is engaged in development of liquid and cryogenic propulsion stages for launch vehicles and auxiliary propulsion systems for both launch vehicles and satellites. It is headquartered Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala and functions under Department of Space.
It has developed liquid propellant stages for PSLV, control systems for SLV-3, PSLV, ASLV and GSLV, satellite propulsion systems including those for INSAT and IRS. It also has developed indigenous cryogenic upper stage for Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) which was successfully test fired by ISRO in August 2007.
It has two units located at Valiamala, in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, and Bengaluru, Karnataka. It is augmented by ISRO’s Propulsion Complex at Mahendragiri of Tamil Nadu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *