Information Commissions: Key Facts

RTI Act 2005 provides for establishment of Central and State information commissioner as a designated authority to receive and inquire into a complaint from any person.

Central Information Commission

CIC is responsible for the implementation of RTI at centre level. It consists of one Chief Information Commissioner and maximum 10 numbers of Central Information Commissioners, all appointed by President. Tenure is 5 years. An MP / MLA cannot become a CIC or IC.

The Chief Information Commissioner enjoys complete financial and administrative powers of a Department of the Government of India except in matters relating to the creation of posts, re-appropriation and writing-off losses for which it needs the specific concurrence of the Ministry of Finance.

Appointment is done by President on the recommendation of a committee consisting of—Prime Minister as Chairperson, the Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha; a Union Cabinet Minister to be nominated by the Prime Minister.

The persons who hold the office of Commissioner and Information Commissioners are of eminence in public life with wide knowledge and experience in law, science and technology, social service, management, journalism, mass media or administration and governance.

Powers and Functions of CIC

CIC exercises all such powers vested in it via RTI act. Its major function is to receive and inquire into complaints relating to access to information from public authorities. It has power to require the public authority to compensate the complainant for any loss or other damage suffered.

State Information Commission

SIC is constituted by the State Government with one State Chief Information Commissioner (SCIC) and not more than 10 State Information Commissioners (SIC) to be appointed by the Governor. It has similar powers and duties to CIC at the state level.

Leave a Reply