IBA Women’s World Boxing Championship

India is set to host the 2023 IBA Women’s World Boxing Championship.

IBA Women’s World Boxing Championship

IBA Women’s World Boxing Championship is the biennial amateur boxing competition organized by the International Boxing Association (IBA). Along with the Olympic boxing programme, it is the highest level of competition for boxing. It was held for the first time in 2001 – 25 years after the sporting event was held for men in 1974. It was held in even number years between 2006 to 2018 and switched to nominal odd-year schedule since 2019. The 2022 edition was hosted by Turkey. Algeria, Kosovo, Lithuania, Mozambique, Spain and Uzbekistan won their first gold medal during this event. In the 12 champions played over the years, India won a total of 39 medals, including 10 gold medals.

2023 IBA Women’s World Boxing Championship

  • International Boxing Association (IBA) and the Boxing Federation of India (BFI) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in New Delhi to host 2023 IBA Women’s World Boxing Championship in India.
  • During the 2023 championship, BFI and IBA will jointly introduce a bout review system.
  • The biennial event will see a total prize of around Rs.19.50 crore (2.4 million USD).
  • The gold medalists will receive around Rs.81 lakh (100,000 USD).
  • This event will be the third Women’s World Championships to be hosted by India.
  • Since the inaugural edition was conducted in 2001, India had been the host country in 2006 and 2018. Both these events were held in New Delhi.

Boxing in India

In recent years, India has regularly been finishing amongst the top 5 countries in global and multi-event competitions like World Championships, Asian Games and Commonwealth Games. The 2023 edition will demonstrate India’s key position in the world of boxing at the international level. It came as the result of the efforts taken by the Boxing Federation of India (BFI) over the years in developing the sport.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *