Global Initiative to reduce Land Degradation and Coral Reef program launched

The G20 Environment Ministers Meeting took place on September 16, 2020 as a part of the Sherpa Track for the G20 Leaders’ Summit 2020. The summit was hosted by Saudi Arabia.

Key Highlights

  • In the meeting, The Global Initiative on Reducing Land Degradation was launched.
  • Theme of the meeting has been selected as- “Realizing Opportunities of the 21st Century for All”
  • The meeting addressed 3 key agenda under the theme,
  1. Empowering People, by creating the conditions in which all people can live, work and thrive. Special emphasis given on women and youth.
  2. Safeguarding the Planet, through collective efforts in order to protect the global commons
  3. Shaping the New Frontiers, by adopting some long-term and bold strategies in order to share benefits of innovation and emerging technologies.
  • The meeting was attended by Union Minister Prakash Javedkar.

Global Initiative on Reducing Land Degradation

The primary aim of the initiative is to strengthen the implementation of existing frameworks in order to prevent, halt, and reverse land degradation within G20 member states and globally. The implementation has to be done by taking into account possible implications on the achievement of other sustainable development goals (SDGs) and adhering to the principle of doing no harm.

G20 meeting

  • For the annual G20 meeting, consultations are conducted through three tracks.
  • Under the finance and Sherpa track, Government discussions takes place.
  • Civil society organizations participate through several Engagement Groups.
  • The Sherpa Track includes meetings of Ministers and relevant senior officials.
  • The Sherpa Track is mainly focused on socioeconomic issues including the agriculture, climate, anti-corruption, education, digital economy, energy, employment, health, environment, tourism, trade and investment.

G20 countries

The G20 includes 19 countries and the European Union. The 19 countries that makes the grouping include- Argentina, Brazil, Australia, China, Canada, India, France, Germany, Italy, Indonesia, Turkey, Japan, Mexico, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, the UK, and the US.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *