Global Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) comes into force on 24 December 2014

Global Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) came into force on 24 December 2014, after it was adopted by the UN General Assembly in April 2013.
Now this landmark treaty has officially became binding international law, which aims to regulate around the USD 85 billion global arms trade.
It came into force after 60 nations ratified it, as of December 23 among the 130 signatories of the treaty. In order to come in force, the treaty in total needed 50 nations ratification.

Key facts of Global Arms Trade Treaty (ATT)

  • It is the first legally-binding multilateral agreement that prohibits nations from exporting conventional weapons to countries that may use it for genocide, crimes against humanity or war crimes.
  • It adds a new chapter in collective efforts of nations to bring responsibility, accountability and transparency to the global arms trade.
  • It set robust global standards for cross-border transfers of conventional weapons ranging from small firearms to tanks and attack helicopters.
  • It creates binding requirements for states to review cross-border contracts to ensure weapons will not be used in human rights abuses, violations of humanitarian law or organised crime

Countries that ratified ATT

  • Five of the top 10 arms exporters – France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the UK have already ratified the ATT.

Ratification opposed by following nations

  • Major weapons producers like Russia, China, India and Pakistan have not signed the treaty.
  • US-the world’s top arms exporter, had signed the treaty in September 2013 but the Senate has not ratified it.

Why India did not sign  ATT?

In 2013, India was among the 23 nations that had abstained from voting on the treaty resolution. As per India, the treaty has weak provision on terrorism and non-state actors as these concerns are not mentioned in the specific prohibitions of the Treaty.


Leave a Reply