Various Committees for betterment of Indian Railways

For the betterment of Indian Railways, numerous committees and panels were created.  As early as in 1994, Prakash Tandon Committee, made comprehensive proposals for change. In 1997, a McKinsey report was prepared on behalf of the Asian Development Bank. Thereafter, there were two status reports, in 1998 and 2002 under Nitish Kumar; Rakesh Mohan Committee 2002; followed by a white paper and a Vision 2020 in 2009 under Mamata Banerjee; followed by two reports in 2012, one led by Anil Kakodkar on safety and the other led by Sam Pitroda on modernisation.  The NDA Government came up with two high level committees viz. DK Mittal Committee and Bibek Debroy Committee. They all address the same basic issue – how to get the Railways going?


Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.