First Round Table Conference 1930

On 11 September 1930, the personnel of the Round Table Conference were announced. The conference was opened officially by King George V on November 12, 1930 in London. It was chaired by British PM Ramsay MacDonald. 16 delegates represented the three political parties of Britain and 57 political leaders from India representing all shades of Indian opinion, minus Indian National Congress. The main Indian representatives were as follows:

  • Muslim League: Muhammad Ali Jinnah, Muhammad Shafi, Aga Khan, Muhammad Ali, Muhammad Zafrulla Khan, A.K. Fazlul Huq
  • Hindu Mahasabha: B. S. Moonje and M.R. Jayakar
  • Indian Liberal Party : Tej Bahadur Sapru, C. Y. Chintamani and Srinivasa Sastri
  • Sikhs: Sardar Ujjal Singh
  • The Untouchables: B. R. Ambedkar
  • Dewans of many princely states.

    The concept of All India Federation was supported. Dr. Ambedkar demanded a separate electorate for the Untouchables.

    Most of the congress leaders were absent because they were either in Jails or followed the decision of Congress to boycott the conference. So, without congress, the entire exercise turned out to be fruitless.

    After the failure of the First Round Conference, many leaders mainly the pro-Bitish members of Indian Liberal Party such as Tej Bahadur Sapru, C. Y. Chintamani and Srinivasa Sastri appealed Gandhi to talk with the Viceroy. The talks between Gandhi and Irwin were arranged. Many congress leaders were released to make a favorable environment.

Tags: ,



  • chandramohan

    nicely explained.

  • Ria chakraborty

    Thanks for this explaination

  • magnus

    But…what was the purpose of the forst RTC????
    simon report or dominioin status?