Arrival of Lord Linlithgow 1936-1944

Lord Linlithgow was Viceroy of India from 1936 to 1944. This was the longest reign as Viceroy of India. During his reign, the following important events took place:

  1. Government of India Act 1935
  2. Elections in the Provinces 1937
  3. Beginning of Second World War 1939
  4. Arrival of Cripps Mission. 1942
  5. Quit India Movement begins 1942
  6. Great Famine of Bengal 1943

    He was the third last British Viceroy of India. The two following viceroys were Lord Wavell (1944-1947) and Lord Mountbatten (1947-48).

Video from our Channel

Random Articles