Aga Khan Trophy

  1. The Aga Khan Trophy is an equestrian prize established in 1926 by Aga Khan III.
  2. Eight of the top nations in the world compete to win the prize. It is held every year as part of the Failte Ireland Dublin Horse Show and is now part of the Samsung Super League.
  3. Italy won the Trophy in 2009.
  4. The late Aga Khan donated the magnificent trophy in 1926 in appreciation of all the pleasures he had had at previous horse shows and in gratitude of his Irish tutor, Mr. Kenny. The first competition was held in 1926. This trophy is known as the “Nations` Cup”.
  5. The trophy has been won 5 times. By the Swiss in 1930, Ireland in 1937 and 1979, Britain in 1953 and 1975.
  6. Since its inception, nearly 50% of the horses that took part on victorious Aga Khan teams were Irish bred.
  7. In 1925, Colonel Ziegler of the Swiss army met Hon W.E. Wylie, K.C. and suggested that if Ireland could stage an international competition at Ballsbridge it would be great way of exhibiting Irish horses on a world platform.
  8. The year 1932 saw the beginning of Irish supremacy in Show Jumping. Since the foundation of the Army Equitation School, the Irish Military teams have grown from strength to strength.
  9. Friday of Horse Show week, having no major attraction, was chosen as the most appropriate day to hold the competition for this trophy.

For more details visit this page

Video from our Channel

Random Articles