Gallantry Awards of India

On the occasion of India’s 73rd Independence Day President Ram Nath Kovind has signed-off on awards to armed forces personnel and members of paramilitary forces.

The recipient’s list includes two Kirti Chakras, one Vir Chakra, 14 Shaurya Chakras, eight Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 90 Sena Medals (Gallantry), five Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry), seven Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry) and five Yudh Seva Medals.

Gallantry Awards in India

The Gallantry Awards were constituted by the government of India on 26th January 1950 and were deemed to have effect from the 15th August 1947. Further, on 4th January 1952, three more Gallantry Awards i.e. the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, the Ashoka Chakra Class-II and the Ashoka Chakra Class-III were instituted by the Government of India on 4th January 1952.  These awards were renamed as the Ashoka Chakra, the Kirti Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra respectively in January 1967.

The Gallantry Awards are announced twice in India on the occasion of Independence Day and Republic Day. These Gallantry awards can also be divided into two types with each type having three awards each:

War Time Gallantry Awards

They are given during wars or battles. These awards are given for the valour shown on the battlefield in the face of the enemy which include

  • Param Vir Chakra
  • Maha Vir Chakra
  • Vir Chakra
Peace Time Gallantry Awards

These are awarded for the courage and bravery shown away from the battlefield. These kinds of awards are generally given for counter-insurgency operations. These include:

  • Ashoka Chakra
  • Kirti Chakra
  • Shaurya Chakra

The Order of precedence of the Gallantry awards is the Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *