Elevation of Union Law Secretary as HC Judge

In October 2019, Anoop Kumar Mendiratta became the first serving judge to be appointed as Union Law Secretary, among 60 candidates. On February 25, 2022, he became the first Union Law Secretary to be appointed as a judge in High Court.

Key Facts

  • The former district and sessions judge at the Karkardooma courts will now take his seat in Delhi High Court, for three years.
  • In July 2021, Delhi High Court had made eight recommendations for judges.
  • On February 3, 2022, Supreme Court collegium recommended six from that list of judges for appointment.

Which article provides for appointment of judges?

The President of India, by exercising power conferred in Clause (1) of Article 217 of Indian Constitution, appointed:

  1. Neena Bansal Krishna
  2. Dinesh Kumar Sharma
  3. Anoop Kumar Mendiratta
  4. Sudhir Kumar Jain, as judge of the Delhi High Court, in the order of seniority.

Number of judges in Delhi High Court

With these appointments, the working strength of Delhi High Court will increase to 34, against the sanctioned strength of 62 judges.

Indian Judiciary

Indian Judiciary is a system of courts, interpreting and applying the law. It uses a common law system, that has been inherited from legal system established by former colonial powers and princely states. This system is managed and administrated by officers of judicial service, who are intended to fill district judge post and other civil judicial posts inferior to district judge.  President of India appoints judges of the High Courts and Supreme Court on the recommendation of a collegium.

Classification of judicial system of India

Judicial System of India is classified into three levels:

  1. Supreme Court or Apex Court– It is the top court and the last appellate court in India. Chief Justice of India is the top authority of apex court.
  2. High Courts– High courts are the top judicial bodies in the states. They are controlled and managed by Chief Justices of States.
  3. District Courts or subordinate courts– These courts are controlled and managed by District & Sessions Judges. This system is divided into:
  • Civil court– It is headed by a Sub-Judge
  • Munsif court
  • Criminal court– It is headed by Chief Judicial or Metropolitan Magistrate at top, followed by ACJM or ACMM & JM or MM at the lower level.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *