Czech Republic: Russia’s replacement in UNHRC

The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) in a secret ballot voting elected the Czech Republic to replace Russia on the UN Human Rights Council (UNHRC).

How many countries voted for the Czech Republic?

157 countries voted in favor of the Czech Republic in the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) and there were 23 abstentions. The Czech Republic retains the UNHRC seat till 31 December 2023.

Why was Russia suspended from UNHRC?

Russia was suspended from UNHRC by a vote in the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) for its human rights violations in Ukraine. Later, Russia announced that it had withdrawn from UNHRC before the vote.

Can Russia participate in UNHRC sessions?

Although Russia is suspended from UNHRC, it can participate in the UNHRC sessions as it has observer status.

Country from which region can replace Russia?

The seats in United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) are divided among regional groups and a replacement for Russia had to come from an East European country. The Czech Republic, an East European country, submitted a candidacy proposal to UNHRC in April.

Which other country was suspended from UNHRC in recent years?

In 2011, Libya was suspended from UNHRC because of the violence against protesters by forces supporting then-leader Muammar Gaddafi.

What is UNHRC?

The United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) is a UN organization that aims to protect human rights. It was established by the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) in 2006. It replaced the United Nations Commission on Human Rights (UNCHR). The headquarters of UNHRC is in Geneva in Switzerland.

How many members are there in UNHRC?

The UNHRC has 47 members elected for three-year terms and the seats are divided on a regional group basis. No member can occupy the UNHRC seat for more than two consecutive terms.

How the UNHRC seats are distributed?

The UNHRC seats are divided into the following regional groups: 13 for Africa, 13 for Asia, 6 for Eastern Europe, 8 for Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), and 7 for the Western European and Others Group (WEOG).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *