Utkala Dibasa, Odisha Statehood Day celebrated on April 1

Every year, the state of Odisha celebrates Utkal Divas on April 1. The tradition of the celebration is being followed for 84 years now. Being the 9th largest state, the state is rich in mineral resources. It is a major supplier of raw materials such as coal, iron ore to several industries spread all over the country.


The State of Odisha was established on April 1, 1936. It was established as a province of British India on April 1, 1936. It was named Orissa. The English name was changed to Odisha on November 4, 2011.


In 3rd Century BC, the state was ruled by the Great Emperor Ashoka. Later it was ruled by several other monarchs such as the Harshas. During the 8th century the state was known as Kosala and Utkala kingdoms. Even today the statehood day is celebrated as “Utkal Divas”. Later in 16th century, Odisha was rued by Sultanate of Bengal. In mid-18th century Odisha was under the rule of Marathas.

Later after the Carnatic wars, it came under the rule of Madras Presidency of British.



Latest E-Books