Union Cabinet gives approval to 6 new IITs

The Union Cabinet has given its approval to amend The Institutes of Technology (IIT) Act, 1961 for incorporation of 6 new IITs. This amendment will declare these 6 IITs as the institutions of national importance
Six new IITs will come up at: Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh), Palakkad (Kerala), Dharwar (Karnataka), Bhilai (Chhattisgarh), Goa, Jammu (Jammu and Kashmir).
Besides, Union Cabinet also gave its approval to convert of Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad into an IIT under the ambit of the IIT Act, 1961.
The Cabinet also gave its ex post facto approval to set up the National Institutes of Technology (NIT) Andhra Pradesh which has been registered as a Society under the Andhra Pradesh Societies Registration Act, 2001.
In this regard, National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (Amendment) Bill, 2016 will be introduced in the parliament for inclusion of the NIT, Andhra Pradesh in its first schedule.
The bill will amend NITSER Act, 2007 to ensure a high level of public accountability and increase participation of the stakeholders in administration and academic activities of NIT.



Latest E-Books