Telangana celebrates Statehood Day

The State of Telangana was formed on June 2, 2014. To commemorate the formation of the state, every year Telangana Statehood Day is celebrated on June 2.


On March 4, 2014, the Union Government of India announced 2nd June, 2014 as the Telangana Formation Day. Telangana was the 28th state to be formed in the Union of India. During its formation, it was decided that both the states Andhra Pradesh and Telangana will share Hyderabad as their capital for 10 years. Later, Seemandhra will establish its own capital. However, the revenues of Hyderabad will be enjoyed only by Telangana. Also, no special status was provided to Seemandhra.

Formation of Telangana

The Telangana movement led to the formation of the state of Telangana. In 1953, States Reorganization Commission was appointed to create states based on their languages. Based on the recommendation of the commission, the then Union Government decided to merge Andhra State and Telangana to form Andhra Pradesh in 1956. The provisions of safeguards were provided to Telangana in the form of Gentleman’s Agreement.

Gentleman’s Agreement

The Gentleman’s Agreement was signed between leaders of Andhra and Telangana. Violations of this agreement is till date being stated as one of the main reasons for the formation of separate state Telangana.

The agreement was required as majority of the people in Telangana belong to Backward community as compared to those in Andhra. Hence, unification of the states as Andhra according to the commission will lead to exploitation of these backward communities.




Latest E-Books