Tata Trusts to develop 264 villages in Vijayawada under Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana(SAGY) initiative

Tata Trust to develop 264 villages in Vijayawada Lok Sabha constituency of Andhra Pradesh under Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana(SAGY) initiative.
This is fruit of the labor of existing MP of Vijayawada Srinivas Kesineni, who had approached Ratan Tata, chairman emeritus of Tata Sons seeking his collaboration to develop model villages in his constituency under SAGY initiative.
This initiative by the Tata Trusts is first of its kind where a Trust had planned to bring about grass-root level changes and to develop model village under SAGY initiative.

  • Tata Trusts has come forward with an objective to build self sustainable and self driven villages with a focus on the well-being and happiness of the poor in 264 villages.
  • The project has excluded the Vijayawada city and other urban areas in the constituency.
  • Andhra Pradesh has endorsed the idea and will support the project by providing Rs 600 crore-Rs 700 crore funds under the governmental schemes.
  • For this project Tata Trust has recruited over 1,400 volunteers from these villages who will also get training for the job.

About Tata Trust:

In 1892 the founder of Tata group, Jamsetji Tata led the first Trust JN Tata Endowment, later the two sons of Jamsetji Tata formed the Sir Ratan Tata Trust (SRTT) in 1919 and the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust in 1932. Today these Trusts annually support premier academic institutions, community and social causes and programmes for the uplift of the under-privileged in India.
It should be noted that it is Tata Trust that holds maximum stakes (66 per cent) in Tata Group this tells that it is Tata Trust that runs Tata Group.

About Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY)

SAGY encourages Members of Parliament (MP’s) from both Houses to identify and develop one village from their constituency as a model village Under this scheme, MPs will be responsible for developing the socio-economic and physical infrastructure of three villages each by 2019, and a total of eight villages each by 2024.



Latest E-Books