State Formation Day celebrated by Several States

Eight Indian States namely Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Chattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana and Madhya Pradesh celebrated their formation day in November 1, 2019. PM Modi and President Ram Nath Kovind and several other leaders wished the states for their prosperity.

The day is celebrated as “Rajyotsav” by the state of Karnataka every year.

There are 28 states and 9 Union Territories in India as on November 2, 2019.


Kerala was created on November 1, 1956. Prior to its formation it was three independent provinces namely Malabar, Travancore and Cochin. It got its name from its first ruler Keralian Thamboran.


The state of Chattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh on November 1, 2000. It is the 10th largest state in India. The step was taken for easy administration and also to reduce naxalism in the region. There are about 25 million people living in Chattisgarh.


The state of Haryana was carved out of Punjab on November 1, 1966. The state was a boon to the country as it led the Green Revolution movement in terms of crop output.


The movement led by the Akali Dal resulted in the formation of Punjabi-majority Punjab state, Union Territory of Chandigarh and Haryanvi-Hindi majority Haryana state. The formation of the state dates back to the Punjabi suba movement in the 1950s

Madhya Pradesh

The State of Madhya Pradesh was formed on November 1, 1956. It is the second largest state of India in terms of area and is the sixth largest populous state.

Tamil Nadu

For the first time since its formation Tamil Nadu is celebrating its formation day. It was formed based on the Linguistic Reorganization of States in 1956.

Odisha was the first state to be formed on linguistic basis.




Latest E-Books