R S Sharma re-appointed TRAI chairperson till 2020

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved reappointment of Ram Sewak Sharma as chairperson of Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) for further period beyond August 2018 upto September 2020, i.e. date on which he attains age of 65 years. He was in July 2015 named as TRAI chief for three-year period.

Ram Sewak Sharma

Sharma is 1982 batch (retired) IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre. Prior to his appointment as TRAI chairman, he had worked in various government departments particularly dealing with IT-enabled programmes. He has also worked as Director General and Mission Director of Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) or Aadhaar.

Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)

TRAI is an independent regulator of telecommunications business in India. It was established in 1997 through Telecom Regulatory Authority of India Act, 1997. TRAI also fixes or revises the tariffs for telecom services in India. Its mission is to create and nurture conditions for growth of telecommunications in India to enable country to have leading role in emerging global information society. It also provides fair and transparent environment that promotes level playing field and facilitates fair competition in the market. It also regularly issues orders and directions on various subjects such as tariffs, quality of service, interconnections, Direct To Home (DTH) services and mobile number portability .




Latest E-Books