Sarbananda Sonowal sworn-in as Assam Chief Minister

BJP leader and former Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal (54) was sworn-in as the 14th Chief Minister of Assam after winning 2016 state assembly election with absolute majority.
State Governor Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya administered the oath of office and secrecy to Sarbananda Sonowal at the oath taking ceremony held in Khanapara, Guwahati. Besides, Governor also administered oath of office and secrecy to the 10 ministers of his government.
With this, maiden BJP government assumed power in the North Eastern state for first time in the political history of independent India.
Sarbananda Sonowal also became second tribal chief minister of Assam after Jogen Hazarika who was in the office 1970s.

About Sarbananda Sonowal

  • Born on 31 October 1961 in Dibrugarh, Assam. He is popularly known as a firebrand and dynamic youth politician of Assam and also regarded as a Jatiya Nayak.
  • Before entering into politics, he was the President of All Assam Students’ Union (ASSU) from 1992 to 1999.
  • In 2001, he was elected as the member of Assam assembly on the ticket of Asom Gana Parishad.
  • Later in 2004, he became Lok Sabha member for the first time from Dibrugarh constituency.
  • Later he joined the BJP and for the first time became state BJP President in 2013. He was elected to the 16th Lok Sabha from the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency.
  • He had served as Union Minister for Sports & Youth Affairs and Union Minister of State (MoS) for Entrepreneurship and Skill Development in the Narendra Modi Government.



Latest E-Books