Sanjay Kumar appointed new NDRF Chief

Senior IPS officer Sanjay Kumar was appointed as Director General (DG) of National Disaster Response Force (NDRF). He will succeed R K Pachnanda who was has taken charge as DG the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).
Sanjay Kumar is a 1985-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of Himachal Pradesh cadre. Prior to this appointment, he was director general of police (DGP) in Himachal Pradesh. 

About National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)

NDRF is India’s elite disaster mitigation combat force established under The Disaster Management Act, 2005. It was established in 2006 and is headquartered in New Delhi. It functions under Union Ministry of Home Affairs.
It is mandated to undertake special disaster response, relief, rescue operations and combat roles independently in the case of an event of any disaster (natural or man-made), accident or emergency. It also assists local authorities in launching a quick rescue and response operation to save life and property. It is assisted by 12 battalions with strength of over 13,000 personnel positioned in various states of country.




Latest E-Books