Sanjay Kothari Appointed as New Central Vigilance Commissioner

The government recently appointed Sanjay Kothari as the Central Vigilance Commissioner after the retirement of K V Chowdary from the post last year.


The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) is an apex governmental body that functions as the anti-corruption watchdog in the country. The body was created in 1964 on recommendation of the K Santhanam Committee and received statutory status in 2003. It is an autonomous body involved in anti-corruption vigilance at the central level.


The CVC is composed of a chairperson called the Central Vigilance Commissioner and 2 other members called Vigilance Commissioner. They have a term of 4 years or till the age of 65 years (whichever is earlier). The first Central Vigilance Commissioner was Nittoor Srinivasa Rau.

Appointment Process

The Central Vigilance Commissioner is appointed by the President on recommendation of a selection committee. The selection committee is chaired by the Prime Minister. Its other members are the Union Minister of Home Affairs and the Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha.




Latest E-Books