N Sakthan elected Kerala Assembly Speaker

Congress legislator and deputy speaker N Shakthan was elected as the new speaker of the Kerala Assembly on 12 March 2015.
It was announced by Pro-tem Speaker Dominic Presentation. Shakthan defeated CPI (M) candidate P. Aysha Potty by 74 to 66 votes.
N Shakthan will replace G. Karthikeyan who had died on March 8, 2015. Prior to speaker election, he had resigned as Deputy Speaker of the Assembly on 10 March 2015.

About N Shakthan

  • Shakthan is incumbent Member of the Legislative Assembly (M.L.A) from Kattakada constituency in Thiruvananthapuram district of Kerala.
  • He belongs to Nadar community, a powerful segment in Southern Kerala, particularly in Thiruvananthapuram district.
  • Shakthan had started his political career through trade union in Kerala. He was elected to the Kerala Legislative Assembly for first time as an Independent candidate in 1982 from Kovalam constituency.
  • Later he represented Congress party and was re-elected to the state assembly in 2001 and 2006 from Nemom constituency and in 2011 from Kattakada constituency. He was Minister for Transport from 2004-06.



Latest E-Books