Ramon Magsaysay awards

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award provided to people of Asian Nations for their acts of selfless courage for the freedom and idealism in a democracy.

What is the Ramon Magsaysay award?

  • It is named after the former President of the Philippines, Ramon Magsaysay and aims to use his example of integrity in governance, selfless and courageous service to the people as a beacon to motivate others.
  • The prize (widely referred to as Asia’s Nobel Prize) was established in April 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund with the mutual agreement of the Philippine government.?
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia?s highest honor given to individuals and organizations.
  • The award ceremony is held in Manilla, Philippines.

Why is it in the news?

Famous Indian Anchor Ravish Kumar has been named as one of the winners of 2019 Ramon Magsaysay awards. Mr. Kumar is a TV journalist and widely reports on several under-reported issues of ordinary people.

Past Winners of Ramon Magsaysay award from India

Past winners from India include Dr Sandeep Pandey who is a famous social activitist, Nileema Mishra who is the founder of Bhagini Nivedita Gramin Vigyan Niketan, Indian Forest Services Officer Sanjiv Chaturvedi and musician T.M. Krishna.?




Latest E-Books