Nobel Prize: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

Nobel Prize for Economics, 2020

The Nobel Prize for Economics, 2020 was awarded to Paul R Milogrom and Robert B Wilson. They were awarded for improvements to Auction Theory and also for inventing new auction formats. The prize is also called Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. The theory formulated by Milgrom allowed calculating common and private values that vary ..

Nobel Peace Prize, 2020

The Nobel Prize for Peace, 2020 has been awarded to the World Food Programme. The WFP has been honoured with the prize for its role towards contributing better conditions for peace in conflict affected areas. It has been a driving force in preventing hunger in war zones. World Food Programme The United Nations World Food ..

Nobel Prize in Literature, 2020

The Nobel Prize, 2020 was awarded to Louise Gluck for her poetry. She is the first female poet to win the prize since Wislawa Szymborska in 1996. Though Olga Tokarczuk and several other women have received the prize in literature category they were all writers and not a poet. Thus, Louis Gluck is the second ..

Nobel Prize for Chemistry, 2020

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry, 2020 has been awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A Doudna for “Development of a method for Genome Editing”. The scientists had developed the Gene Editing Technique called “CRISPR-Cas9 Snipping Scissors”. Highlights The researchers can change the DNA of animals using the Gene Editing Technique invented by the Nobel Laureates. The ..

Nobel Prize for Physics, 2020

The Nobel Prize, 2020 for Physics has been awarded to Andrea M Ghez, Roger Penrose and Reinhard Genzel for their research on black holes. Highlights Roger Penrose was honored for the discovery that black hole formation is robust prediction of theory of relativity. In simple words, theory of relativity led to the discovery of black ..