President Ram Nath Kovind presents ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’

On the occasion of International Women’s day, President Ram Nath Kovind recently presented the ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’ to IAF’s first women fighter pilots, Mohana Jitarwal, Avani Chaturvedi and Bhawana Kanth, among the 15 total wardees.

After the Government of India decided to open fighter stream in the Air force for women on an experimental basis, these three young women were inducted into the IAF’s fighter squadron.
They were also the first to be inducted into the squadron and conduct a solo flight in MIG-21 in the year 2018.


Latest E-Books