PM Reconstitutes Niti Aayog

The Prime Minister has reconstituted the Niti Aayog.

Chairman: Prime Minister

Vice-Chairman: Rajiv Kumar

Full-time Members: VK Saraswat, Ramesh Chand and VK Paul

Ex-officio members: Home Minister, Defence Minister, Finance and Corporate Affairs Minister and Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Minister.

Special invitees: Road Transport and Highways Minister, Social Justice and Empowerment Minister, Railways and Commerce Minister, and Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Statistics and Programme.

Niti Aayog

Niti Aayog is the premier policy think tank of the Indian government which provides both directional and policy inputs. It provides relevant technical advice to the Centre and states on strategic and long term policies and programmes.

Set up in 2015 after to replace the erstwhile planning commission, it is neither constitutional nor statutory body. Similar to its predecessor it was set up through the executive order of the government.

NITI Aayog is also a quintessential platform of the Government of India to bring States to act together in the national interest and thereby fosters Cooperative Federalism. Through various indices and rankings, it is also fostering competitive federalism.
Niti Aayog operates with two hubs:

  • Team India Hub leads the engagement of states with the Central government
  • Knowledge and Innovation Hub builds NITI s think-tank capabilities. These hubs reflect the two key tasks of the Aayog.

NITI Aayog aims to place itself as a State of the Art Resource Centre, with the necessary resources, knowledge and skills which will enable it to act with speed, promote research and innovation, provide strategic policy vision for the government, and deal with contingent issues.


Latest E-Books