Nobel Prize – Chemistry

The winners of Nobel prize 2009 are Venkatraman Ramakrishnan , United States, Thomas A. Steitz United States, Ada E. Yonath Israel “for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome”

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan
  • Born 1952 in Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu
  • He is a structural biologist at the Laboratory of Molecular Biology of the Medical Research Council located in Cambridge, England.
  • He is a Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge.
  • Ramakrishnan is a Fellow of the Royal Society.
  • His residence is in United Kingdom
  • Citizenship United States
  • Known for Bio-crystallography

Thomas A. Steitz :

  • Thomas Arthur Steitz (born August 23, 1940) is a Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA

Ada E. Yonath:

  • Ada E. Yonath (born 1939) is an Israeli crystallographer best known for her pioneering work on the structure of ribosome.
  • She is the current director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science.

Download GKToday's Android App for Current Affairs updates and quizzes.