‘Mysuru Declaration Service Delivery by Panchayats’ – Key Facts

During a ‘National Consultative Workshop on Citizen Charter & Delivery of Services by Panchayats’, which was organised on November 22, 2021, participants from 16 States signed “Mysuru Declaration”. Under it, these states resolved to roll out Common Minimum Service delivery by Panchayats in India from April 1, 2022.

What is Mysuru Declaration?

  • The Mysuru Declaration aims to recognise Citizen Centric Services as the “Heart of Governance”.
  • The declaration provides key inputs on various aspects of service delivery, which are either provided by the panchayats directly or by services of other departments facilitated by panchayats.

Commitments made by participating states

As a part of the declaration, participating states have committed:

  1. To increase availability of Citizen Services at grassroots levels in a efficient and timely manner.
  2. To implement highest standards of professional integrity and accountability to deliver Public Services in timely manner.

About the workshop

The National Consultative Workshop on Citizen Charter & delivery of Services by Panchayats was organised by the Ministry of Panchayat Raj in collaboration with Abdul Nazir State Institute of Rural Development & Panchayat Raj, Mysuru and National Institute of Rural Development & Panchayat Raj, Hyderabad.

Panchayati Raj (Council of five officials)

It is the system of local self-government of villages across rural India. It comprises of the Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) by which the self-government of villages is realized. PRIs are tasked with “economic development, implementation of schemes and strengthening social justice besides 29 subjects which are listed in the Eleventh Schedule.




Latest E-Books