Monsoon Session of Parliament to begin from July 21, 2015

The Monsoon Session of Parliament will begin from 21 July 2015.
The decision to convene Parliament was taken at a meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs. The committee also has recommended President Pranab Mukherjee to convene the three-week Session from 21st of July.

Session of parliament

  • Session of parliament is the period during which the House meets to conduct its business.
  • Article 85 of the Constitution empowers President to summon each House of the Parliament as he thinks fit.
  • However he can summon the houses at intervals not be more than six month’s gap between the two sessions. Thus, it is mandatory to Parliament meet at least twice a year as per constitution.

By convention Indian Parliament conducts three sessions each year. They are

  • Budget session: February to May.
  • Monsoon session: July to September.
  • Winter session: November to December.

It should be noted that Article 85 also empowers President to prorogue the either house of Parliament and dissolve the Lok Sabha (Lower House of Parliament).



Latest E-Books