MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup: IOC beats PNB

Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) emerge champion in the 93rd All-India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup hockey tournament by defeating Punjab National Bank (PNB) with 3-1 in final held at Chennai, Tamil Nadu. Murugappa Group Chairman M M Murugappan gave away trophy to the winning team.

Key Highlights

IOC, the defending champion of the season, after a goalless first quarter managed to

open its account in 23rd minute when Gurjinder Singh beat rival goalkeeper from a penalty corner.

Gurjinder Singh handed IOC a 2-0 advantage 15 minutes later, converting another penalty corner.

PNB scored 1 goal in 44th minute when Vishal Antil slammed home from a penalty corner.

Later in the 59th minute of the tournamnet Veteran Deepak Thakur scored the final goal of the game.

About MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup hockey

It is the 2nd oldest hockey tournament in country after Beighton Cup in Kolkata.

As the domestic tournament is in its 93rd edition it showcases a rich legacy as it has been a breeding ground for some of Indian hockey’s most celebrated stars.

The 93rd All India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey tournament was held from 29 August to 8 September at Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium in Egmore, Chennai.

Participants: A total of 10 teams participated in tournament, pooled across 2 groups of 5 teams each. Defending champions of tournament was Indian Oil Corporation. Indian Air Force (IAF) team is participating for 1st time in the tournament while teams from Indian Army and Navy (who are regulars to tournament), are also taking part. So, for first time, hockey teams from all 3 forces are participating.

Prize Money: Winner of tournament received Rs.6 lakhs while runners up get Rs.3.5 lakhs. Cash prize of Rs.10,000 were given along with a high-end bicycle each to best forward, best midfielder, best goalkeeper, the most promising player of tournament and man of the match of finals.

Related Posts




Latest E-Books


  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Congratulations to champions Indian Oil Corporation. Well played.