Kirti Chakra gallantry awards 2014

The President of India, Mr. Pranab Mukherjee presented gallantry awards to defense personnel for their distinguished services at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.
Kirti Chakra awards: Lt Commander Abhilash Tomy, Major Mahesh Kumar and Wing Commander Darryl Castelino.

  • Wing Commander Darryl Castelino: Awarded posthumously for his role in operation Rahat in Uttarakhand where his chopper crashed with 20 personnel on board after he had helped in rescuing lives of more than 80 people.
  • Major Mahesh Kumar (Punjab Regiment): Awarded for his gallant acts in counter-insurgency operations in Jammu and Kashmir where he killed 4 terrorists in three separate incidents.
  • Caption Abhilash Tomy: Awarded for completing world voyage on his sail ship non-stop and without any external support in 151 days.

 Param Vishist seva medals (15): Lt Gen Ashok Singh of Infantary, Air Marshal Jaswinder Singh Chauhan of Air Force and Vice Admiral Niranjan Kumar Nadella, etc.
Two Uttam Yudh seva medals and 10 Shaurya Chakra awards were also conferred to the defence personnel.
 Note: Kirti Chakra is the second highest peace time gallantry award i.e. awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the field of battle.