Jitan Ram Manjhi sworn-in as Bihar Chief Minister

Jitan Ram Manjhi is the new Chief Minister of Bihar. He was administered oath of office and secrecy by Governor D.Y. Patil at a ceremony at the Raj Bhavan in Patna. The 15 members of the previous Nitish Kumar government have retained their place in the new Jitan Ram Manjhi Ministry, while two independent MLA have also been added.
It may be recalled that chief minister Nitish Kumar had resigned from the post taking the responsibility of his party’s (JDU) dismal performance in the recently concluded Lok Sabha polls.
Jitan Ram Manjhi:
Manjhi is from Mahkar village in Gaya district. He is a legislator from the Makhdoompur assembly constituency in Jehanabad district. He is the third Dalit CM of Bihar after Bhola Paswan Shastri and Ram Sundar Das. Prior to his appointment as CM, Manjhi was SC/ST welfare minister in the Nitish Kumar cabinet.



Latest E-Books