Infosys Prizes 2019

The winners of the Infosys Prize 2019 in six categories were announced by Infosys Science Foundation (ISF). The awardees were selected from 196 nominations by a panel of 6 jurors. The awards to winning professors will be conferred by Nobel laureate Amartya Sen on 7 January 2020.

Infosys Prize 2019 for science and research awardees

Awarded for contributions is given in six categories of science and research –

  1. Engineering & Computer Sciences: Sunita Sarawagi, for her research in databases, data mining, machine learning (ML) as well as natural language processing, and for important applications of these research techniques.
  2. Humanities: Manu V. Devadevan, for his original and wide-ranging work on pre-modern South India.
  3. Life Sciences: Manjula Reddy, for her groundbreaking discoveries concerning the structure of cell walls in bacteria.
  4. Mathematical Sciences: Siddhartha Mishra, for his outstanding contributions to Applied Mathematics. This included designing numerical tools for solving problems in real world.
  5. Physical Sciences: Mugesh, for his seminal work in chemical synthesis of small molecules and nanomaterials for biomedical applications.
  6. Social Science: Anand Pandian, for his imaginative work on ethics, selfhood and the creative process.

About Infosys Prize

It is an annual award given by the Infosys Science Foundation. It is conferred to scientists, researchers, engineers and social scientists of Indian Origin (not necessarily born in India). The prize was awarded in 2008 and is ranked among the highest monetary awards in India to recognize research.

The prize for each category includes a citation certificate, a gold medal, and prize money of $100,000 (around 70 lakh in Indian Rupees) and the prize purse is tax free in hands of winners in India.




Latest E-Books


  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Hearty congratulations to all.